You gotta love these articles

My view regardless of how close we are to some technology that may be in the is that even if the tech exists, it’ll be along time in my opinion before airlines and passengers are comfortable with having no pilots on board.

Perhaps I am naive, but I really do not see this happening.

Hasn’t the military been doing autonomous flights for almost 20 years now? Looking at the RQ-4 Global Hawk program and the X-47 program, they seem to have it down pretty good. None of this automation really seems like new or ground breaking technology.

And I’m sure there are other military autonomous programs out there that we have never heard of…

Clint,

Those flights are mostly still flown by pilots, just remotely. They also have a rather high loss rate, not all of it due to combat.

Chris

I’m no expert when it comes to this, but through some research it looks like Global Hawks have very limited pilot interaction. The flight plan is uploaded to the aircraft and then a pilot initiates a taxi/take off sequence using a keyboard and mouse from a ground control station. The pilot interacts with ATC but the plane does everything on its own, it even determines when it should abort a take off/landing. And if a pilot needs to change course in flight it’s all done by entering new coordinates with a keyboard/mouse interface. The pilot can enter rates of roll or climb/descent but the software won’t allow a pilot to enter a parameter that will cause damage to the aircraft or put it into an unrecoverable condition.

The loss rates don’t seem to be to bad, with 4 aircraft lost over 300,000 flight hours, and one of those was due to being shot down. Another loss was due to pilots misunderstanding of a nav fault disabling the wrong Nav computers, but they were following the manufacturers checklist.