Private Pilot Written Exam prep

I just started studying for the written PPL exam. I am slated to start at ATP in March 2020. In relation to aviation knowledge and experience I am starting at zero, I have only done two flight lessons. So, I am studying with sportys learn to fly course and ASA ppl test prep book. I put study time daily at least 1 hour usually more depending on what my work schedule is like (I am a flight attendant). I am excited and overwhelmed because there is just so much to know. Any words of wisdom? Tips tricks?

Thanks in advance

1 Like

Reena,

When you say you’re “slated” have you enrolled, selected a class date, paid your deposit? If not you might want to get crackin’ to ensure you get the date you want. If you have ATP will give you access to tgifr study material for all 6 required written exams.

The fact is the FAA Knowledge exams don’t really follow any curriculum and time vast majority of people use and are successful with test periods preps that use simple rote memorization. You’ll learn to fly once you start the program. The writtens are simply a box you need to check.

Adam

Hey Adam!

I have done all of that I am simply waiting for my medical to clear before sending the deposit. It was deferred due to high BP. My AME told me not to worry too much about it and to continue on because it’s not a disqualifying condition. So I’m getting a head start on the studying for the written.

Thanks for the input!

Reena

Reena,

I suggest starting with the written exams first as opposed to starting with the PPL test prep book.
https://atpflightschool.com/faqs/acpp-prep-written-knowledge-tests.html

The written exams are something that you’ll have to complete before or during the program anyway. If you can get all or some of them done before you start you will save yourself time to focus on other things.