Pilot Health

I have a concern about me going into an aviation career and obtaining my medical certificates. I have anxiety, although I do not take medication for it at all. I have every once in a blue moon, a panic attack. They usually last for about 3-4 minutes. I also have other minor conditions that intertwine with my anxiety, such as misophonia. I am not diagnosed, but depression runs in my family and I’m sure that I have minor to moderate depression from time to time. Could things like these keep me from getting my first class medical certificate? Lastly, is it possible I will be asked about conditions such as what I have stated during a examination?

Wyatt,

I would assume that these conditions would raise a flag during a medical examination. After all, you need to be fit to fly passengers, and a 3-4 minute panic attack at 30,000ft is not ideal. But as I am not a medical expert, I recommend you ask an AME to get an accurate answer.

Yarden

Wyatt,

You will DEFINITELY be asked about these things on the FAA medical application and the AME will want more information and may require additional testing before issuing you a medical certificate. As Yarden said you really need to speak with an AME before proceeding.

Adam

Thank you Yarden. I was wondering because they are well controlled I feel but do experience these conditions from time to time. I’m also not diagnosed from a doctor with these conditions. Does that make a difference? Also, I would NOT do this as it puts lives in danger, but is it possible for someone with similar conditions that is not diagnosed to not bring it up to the examiner and lie?

Thank you Adam. So, you say additional testing may be required for say, anxiety. What are some examples of that additional testing? Also, do you know any pilots who have minor anxiety issues that were cleared to fly. Like I stated, the anxiety attack are fairly short, and happen maybe 3 times a year.