Physical requirements

Hello, I am still brand new and haven’t even started class, but I was wondering what the physical requirements were. I am currently a chef and have always wanted to be a pilot, but I wear glasses (my eye sight is not bad by any means) and am a bigger gentleman. That being said what are the requirements to be a pilot and be taken seriously.

Aloha Matthew and welcome!

First off I’ve been a pilot for 30+ yrs and still no one takes me seriously so you can forget that one!

To be an airline pilot you must be able to obtain an FAA First Class Medical which really isn’t that tough. Vision requirements are 20/20 distant and 20/40 near both with or without correction so as long as your glasses can get you there you’re money. As for being “bigger”, trust me I’ve seen some REALLY HEALTHY pilots (I actually have a friend who got a waiver from his company to violate the uniform requirement because the company manufacturer didn’t make a jacket in his size). The FAA doesn’t actually have any height/weight requirements (FYI, they do in Japan) BUT they obviously don’t want you keeling over the yolk at 40,000’ either. Being overweight can (as I’m sure you’re aware) often create other health issues. There are blood pressure requirements and if your BMI is over 30 your AME (Aviation Medical Examiner) may send you for a sleep analysis to make sure you don’t have sleep apnea. If you’re fine in both those areas I’m sure you’ll be good but to be certain I recommend (and ATP requires) you to go get your First Class Medical so there’s no question. Cool?

Adam

5 Likes

Wow thank you very much for such a quick reply, and thank you that is great to hear.

No worries Matthew.

I can’t always deliver such fast turn around BUT as an airline pilot I spend about 90% of my time hanging out doing nothing (actually I’m cooking Stromboli. I owned a pizzeria in my past life) sooooo…:grin:

6 Likes