Military Fork In the Road

Greetings, I’m new to this community but I’m looking for advice, educated opinions, or experience revolving around military transition to the airlines.

I’m a KC-130J pilot in the Marine Corps (currently in a non-flying staff job). I have a BS Mechanical Engineering degree and 1250 flight hours. In the next year I have the ability to go back to my squadron for a 3 year flying tour or I can get out of the military. I have my Commercial, but no ATP. I took the ATP written exam, but it has expired, since I was not able to get the flight checks completed. My wife is an active duty Marine as well and plans on staying in the service.
Will the extra 3 years of military flying or going to a regional be better if I plan on ending up in the airlines regardless? Knowing that seniority is everything in the airlines.
I read previous posts about getting onto a Major vs. regional with different levels of experience. If I go to a regional airline, is it easier to get the base you want? If not, how does the commuting process work or does it even exist at the regional level?

This may be the first of many posts, as I approach this decision point in my life. Thank you for any all help you can provide.

Cheers,

Chris

Chris,

You will need substantially more flight time to get hired at a major, even with your military experience. I am not sure how much you would fly per year in the military, but is suspect that t would be much higher in the regionals. Of course there are retirement benefits to be thought of by staying in the military.

Check out www.pilotjobs.com for a list of airline domiciles. Getting based where you want really depends on where that is and what the demands for that base is. I wouldn’t say that it is any different at the regionals or majors.