Medical Physical and Vocational Security

I am six months away from fully investing in ATP. I have 68 flight hours and a first class medical physical. I have taken three aeronautic college classes. I have been studying fundamentals for three years. My question is in regard to medical. I am 36 years old and have a first class student medical physical. I do not have any corrections of any kind. I do not take any medication. The only thing that I am concerned about is my age. I am 35 years old, I want to fly for 30 years, if I have to get a correction, like wear classes later will I still be entitled to a 30 year vocation. I’m really concerned about medical physicals getting in my way every six months from 40 to 60 years old. Can you shine a little hope on my ardent passion for flight? Is there grace for the pilot as they get older. Are there other flying jobs for pilots with a third class or second class medical physical. I just want to know about the vocational securities and all opportunities to keep me in air for 30 years. I don’t care what I fly, I would fly dung hoe poo to china. I just want to fly. Is there a resource so I can get a really close analysis of everything about medical physicals?

Joshua,

We discussed this over private message a bit already. Older airline pilots need to meet the same medical standards as younger one. There really are not a lot of options for pilots to use a second or third class medical and still get paid to fly.

Your best resource is an FAA Medical Examiner, I recommend that you schedule an appointment to discuss your concerns.

Chris

Joshua,