Keeping your medical certificate safe

What do you guys do to keep your medical certificate intact? I’m a little concerned that I’m going to spill coffee on it, the dog’ll eat it, it’ll get torn up as I’m shoving charts into my bag… whatever. I was thinking about laminating it to give it a little bit more durability, since I’ve got to carry it around with me so often. Or am I being paranoid here?

I attached my old certificate to the inside front cover of my logbook. Never had an issue with it.

TX,

I would not laminate it. The rules may have changed since I was a student,
but you may need a CFI to endorse the back of your medical to authorize you
to solo. If you laminate it, that won’t be possible unless you are skilled
with a blade and can un-laminate it.

I’ve always folded mine neatly and kept it in my wallet. By the time I
renew it (every 12 months) it is still in tact and legible.

I have mixed feelings about Sergey’s suggestion. If you’re logbook gets
stolen, so does your medical. Then again, you can make the same argument
about a wallet being stolen. Slightly off topic, but as you mature into
your aviation career, you’ll learn that it is best to keep your logbook at
home.

I suggest finding a plastic sleeve. They make them for ID badges. You can
decide if you want to wear it around your neck or keep it in your wallet,
or logbook, or flight bag. Knock on wood, just don’t make it easy for a
thief to steal ALL of your stuff.

Tory

Good point, Tory! Didn’t think of that…

I have my Instructor Badge, Liscense, and Medical in a little water proof ID badge sleave that I just carry with me whenever I fly so I have all the documents I need. It’s easier for me to have them all in one place rather than kept in different places.

1 Like

I keep my certificate and my pilots license in my wallet. That way they are always with me and are well protected.

1 Like

Sergey,

Why your old certificate? Just curious.

Chris