First week down

I just finished my first week today, and everyone is right about it being like trying to drink water from a fire hose. It is very exciting though, and my CFI is great. I am doing the zero time program, although I had 12 hours coming in. I am mainly posting to see if anyone has any questions. I’m not too experienced, but I don’t recall seeing anyone post much about the first week. So feel free to ask away.

6 Likes

Hi Matthew!
I’m hoping to start ATP in about 4-6 months (depending on some personal things). Currently I’m in the process of trying to choose a regional airline (which I may spend most of my career at, again because of personal matters). So would you mind sharing which one you’ve chosen, and why? I know it’s kind of a weird question but it could really end up helping me. Thanks so much!
-Isaiah L

Isaiah,

I have to ask you what you mean by “trying to choose a Regional airline”? There’s an old expression “putting the cart before the horse” that comes to mind. The airline you decide to APPLY to and then hopefully get hired by is an important decision but you’re talking about something that’s not going to happen for a while. More so it’s not going to happen at all if you don’t do well and successfully finish your flight training. Further the Regional landscape might look very different 2yrs from now. The Regional that’s on top might not be, the Majors they support, bases etc could change as well.

If you’re serious about becoming a pilot you’d be much better served picking a start date and banging out your knowledge exams. The better prepared you are the better you’ll do in training. That way when the time comes you’ll be in a position to choose the airline you want vs hoping someone gives you a call.

Adam

Hi Adam,