College student in Pro Flight

Hi everyone, I’m Andy.

I have an Associates degree and I’m currently enrolled in the Professional flight program here at Auburn University in Alabama, and through them I’m taking flight training lessons for my PPL, with 16 hrs of flight time logged so far, as well as taking aviation courses for the Bachelors in Professional flight. But due to out-of-state tuition (I’m from Mississippi), the flight training fees, and also by doing some research on here, I quote Pilot mentor Adam “We don’t recommend aviation degrees for 2 reasons. First they are generally very expensive and second you’re putting all your eggs in one basket should a Pilot career not workout”, I’m considering pulling the plug and just going to ATP to solely focus on my flight training, and then getting a bachelors degree in another field besides aviation.
My questions are:

1. Already having my associate’s degree, should I still aim for a bachelor’s degree to qualify for the major airlines in the future?
  2. And if so, should I get it before ATP flight school or could I wait until I become a CFI and then do it afterwards?
  3. Since I’m looking into going to ATP in Tampa, FL and I won’t be able to have a job due to the really condensed 9-month program, Is the $80,000 fee just for training, or does that include an apartment and living expenses?
  4. Is ATP a good school? And if anybody’s attending or has graduated from ATP what was the school like? And if graduated, career wise, how is it after it?

Sorry for being lengthy but I just want to make sure I get as much information as I can before making a final decision. Thanks!

Hi Andy,

Here’s my take.