Advice for a student

Hello,

I am a sophomore at a 141 university and just messed up my PPL flying portion and my retake. My instructor told me this wouldn’t count against me, but from what I’ve heard, failing the same check ride twice is concerning. I’m starting to think an aviation career isn’t for me. Any advice?

Riley

Riley,

Obviously none of us were there, we have no idea of your progress (or issues) during training or what we’re the reasons for the double bust. Respectfully I disagree with your instructor and even if you continue with zero failures going forward, at the very least it will come up during an interview.

With no information my question would obviously be why did you bust? I’m not asking for the literal answer (ie, couldn’t hold an altitude on a steep turn) but more why did it happen? Nerves, lack of preparation, or lack of skill and ability?

If was it nerves you’ll need to find some way to calm yourself (easier said then done). If it was lack of preparation or not being ready, why weren’t you better prepared or ready? If you couldn’t mentally chair fly and talk your way through EVERY maneuver that’s on you. If you went in thinking you had them down “pretty good”, you’ve learned pretty good isn’t good enough. Finally if it’s lack of skill or ability that’s a problem. The reality is, despite our desire, not everyone can or should be a pilot.

It’s time for you to be honest with yourself and come up with a plan. If it was lack of prep or comfort that’s easy. You need to up your game and make sure it doesn’t happen again, ever. If it’s nerves or ability that’s harder and may require some soul searching.

Adam

1 Like