Real Answers from Real Pilots

About the ATP Admissions, Housing & Finance Questions category

Ask your administrative and financing questions here to receive answers from ATP staff members.

(Keith Heflin) #2

Hello, this is my first post. I have been studying you and Adam’s posts for a couple months now and wanted to start by saying that you guys are a blessing. So much valuable information! A little background on myself. Currently 29, will hit the big 3-0 in May. I have worked for my mother and fathers automotive shop since it opened 14.5 years ago. I now manage it and dispite exponential growth in competition we have grown every year. My father is nearing retirement age and I have decided I just dont want to handle another 30 years of automotive service. I have always been as excited to fly on an airplane as I qas to reach the destination I was traveling to. I have no military experience and 0 time flying. Also I wasnt much for college during that adolescent adult age, so I have a long way to go till I have any sort of degree. I am ready for an exciting career change that doesnt require a 4 year degree to get started.

I want to attend ATP and get the ball rolling asap. But I currently have a mortgage and bills that are supported by a salary that seemingly may take 5ish years from starting to instruct (post graduating ATP obviously) to get back to (roughly 67k). Obviously as Adam has said in the past posts, if your doing it for money look elsewhere. Its not about the money its about the passion for flying. Unfortunately I anticipate my debtors will not share the same opinion. That being said I believe i could finance most or all of my 9 month income when I ask for my school loan. Please advise if this is not correct or typical.

Post school, I worry that the instructor salary, even topped out at the quoted 42k, may not be enough to make ends meet. Is it feasible for me to assume I may be able to aquire more money than the 42k if I really hustle with instructing?