Word of advice

Hello all,
I am fairly new to this forum so I want to start this out as postive as I can. To all the students out there the struggle is real. If it was this easy every single person would be a pilot. Second i have my share of failures every great pilot has had a setback one way or the other. Please do not be discouraged if you fail a checkride. Instead sit yourself down at that FBO desk a little longer and study. My experience getting my PPL was challenging I wasn’t the best at ground school. I sure as heck could fly the shoes of my CFI but ground school was a challenge. My first checkride lasted about 15 mins failing the oral. I was very defeated and took a few weeks off. I didn’t let that discourage me from living my dream. My CFI and I laid out a very intensive study plan and with weeks of hard work I was able to live my dream. For every failure there is a reason why. Maybe you aren’t good at the oral portion or the flight manuevers but as a fellow pilot I would love to help all those who are struggling to live their dreams and one day get to the ranks of a pilot. These great airline pilots have volunteered their time to give advice i would like the extand the olive branch as well and help those as well. I will leave my email down below
Thanks
Jack
Jtm75980@ucmo.edu

7 Likes

Thanks Jack. Well said and I’m sure everyone can learn from this. I’m an aspiring pilot myself so this is something I will remember. Kudos

I appreciate you taking the time to say this, Jack. I have not yet even started my journey (just now taking on a third job to save money for the education / student loan payments, fwoo!). I feel like I’ll be one of those who struggles with the ground school. I was never very “school oriented” and always much preferred to learn by doing. Knowing failures happen to everyone and that they weren’t a roadblock seems like a very “duh” idea, but actually hearing it is something else entirely.

Thank you!