Where to Start?

Hi,
My name is Anders and I am 25 years old living in the Twin Cities in Minnesota. I have my high school diploma and currently work in the mortgage industry. My first dream job that I can remember was to be a pilot. I am curious what the best steps to take going forward are. I am married, and live in MN, and there is no ATP campus in the twin cities. Does anyone have experience with a school in MN that would work to get hours in a similar format to ATP? Or is it required that I move to a city with an ATP campus? And obviously based on past questions in this thread, it looks like doing this program first, then doing online college if I wanted to fly for a major seems to be the best option, correct?

Thanks for any help and advice!

Hi Anders and welcome,

If you want to train with ATP (and you should), that does mean you’ll need to relocate. There may very well be some good flight schools in MN but I’m honestly not familiar with any? As for your “best option” that’s really what works best for Anders. I often recommend getting your degree while you’re flying for a Regional (provided you’ve got the discipline to do so) simply because it gets you flying sooner, hired sooner and building seniority sooner.

I recommend you do some research, see maybe if there are any reputable schools in your area and maybe pay them a visit. I also suggest that if you’re really serious about making a career of this and there’s a way of attending ATP (perhaps staying in ATP housing and coming home on weekends?) you give it some thought. There really is no more efficient or faster route to your dreams.

Adam