What is the best pathway to starting a career in aviation?

Right now I am 20 years old, I am likely a year away from obtaining an associates degree. I should have my private pilots license by April-May 2017. I live in Michigan and the weather isn’t always the best to go up and fly. ATP offers a flight school that says after 2 years you can be hired by a regional airline and start flying. That is very appealing to me. I do not want to be drawn in by someone whose job it is to recruit customers. I would like an unbiased opinion on what the best route to take is in my situation. I appreciate all responses. Thank you.

Hello Matthew,

First let me assure you I am not a recruiter nor do I receive any compensation or incentive if you enroll or not with ATP. What I AM is 2 things. I’m currently an airline pilot (A330 FO with Hawaiian airlines and former Capt at ExpressJet) and I’m also a very satisfied customer of ATPs. I was where you are now 13 years ago, I wanted to be an airline pilot but didn’t know what the best route was to achieve that goal. After much research and frustration I settled on ATP. I also was skeptical when they told me that I could get all me licenses and ratings in 90 days (it’s now 100), that the price is actually the price (no btws etc), that they would hire me immediately as an instructor to build time to get hired and finally they would help me get hired at a Regional. Well they delivered on every promise which is why I participate on this forum.

There were many reasons why I settled on ATP. Price, timeframe (probably the biggest) and their reputation in the industry (which was second biggest). I spoke with pilots and ATP is where they had attended (that and Riddle) and more important a dear friend of mine/mentor who is a former Presidential pilot, Corp Chief Pilot and G5/Global pilot to A-list Hollywood sent his daughter to ATP. I also respect that as a mentor ATP allows me to speak my mind and give the pros and cons with no censorship.