What aren’t we asking?

I’ve been following this site for a good month now and will hopefully be starting at ATP in March from no flight experience. I’m currently a loan officer for a top bank and do very well but hate the cubical. After reading this site for about a month you realize there have been usually about 5 of the same questions. Is ATP the best? Do I really need a 4 year degree, like really really? What’s the pay like? I’m from another country can I fly in the US? You get the idea. What I am more curious about is all the pilots on here seem to either have been in the industry a long time but also been answering hundreds of questions. What aren’t we asking? What’s something that you feel that no one is asking but really should be more focused on?

Thanks again! This is a great thing you guys are doing to help out aspiring pilots.

2 Likes

Chris,

That’s really an excellent question and you’re right. Not that we mind, but yes the same questions get asked repeatedly. What bothers me about that fact is these people all aspire to be pilots. While aviation isn’t rocket science, it require not only some intelligence but more so hard work. If some one can’t be bothered to take 1 minute or 2 to read the existing information, I have a hard time believing they’ll be successful in actual airline training where much of it is self-study.