Vacation

For how long do pilots have heir vacation in a year?

Shah,

It depends on the airline but most pilots start with a week or 2 the first few years and it increases over time maxing out to 6-8 weeks.

Adam

It varies with the airlines and how long you have been at an airline, but generally speaking it is between 2-5 weeks.

How does the pay work for vacation time? Do they pay a certain amount of flight hours per day?

Yes Brian. Again it varies from airline to airline but it’s usually around 3-5hrs a day.

Adam

At United we get paid 3.25 hours of pay per day of vacation. Of course this varies by airline.

Thanks guys!

At SkyWest we can set a fixed amount of credit hours (between 2.5 and 4.2) to get paid per vacation day.

Yarden

I am a college soccer referee on the side and am wondering if i can strategically allocate my vacation days to days on which i am assigned games during the fall soccer season (august, september, october).

That in mind, how soon in advance can you bid for vacation days ( a month? a week?). Could i split all my vacation days into single dates like that? Or would i just need to bid for as many weekends off as possible during the soccer season

Thanks!

Bob,

As with many things in the industry it depends. My last airline did not allow you to bid individual days only weeks but my current one does. Most airlines allow you to bid for your vacation at some point in the prior year (at mine it’s Sept) for the upcoming year. Most will also allow you to trade vacation if there are any available days or weeks. The biggest thing to keep in mind, again as with EVERYTHING at the airlines, SENIORITY is king. Regardless of what the company allows if you’re junior you’ll probably be looking at the scraps that are left until you move up some. Same thing as bidding for weekends off.

Adam

Bob,