Trying to live my dream!

So, I have had a life long dream of being a pilot. I have never believed in myself enough to pursue it. I was always discouraged from doing so, as well. Anyway, at 38 married with 5 kids I have decided that I am going to give it a try.
My wife is very supportive and is actually the one really encouraging me to stick this out. She is willing to sell the house and move to a remote pacific island if that is what it takes. Look, I know that this is going to be a long row to hoe, and an extremely difficult one at that! That being said I am not looking for more discouragement, just advice on the best route to take. I do not really care if I ever fly for a major airline (not discounting it). I just want to fly and can’t afford to do it for fun, so I need to make some money at it eventually.
I am a veteran so I get in state tuition in most states. I do not however have any GI Bill Benefits, I have been out of the Guard too long. So our current plan is for me to go to a community college that offers a pilot program. I am currently attended my local community college getting some of the academic requirements out of the way. That way I can just concentrate on the aviation portion of the degree when I transfer, and it gives us time to get our ducks in a row before moving.
My main question is, and I have been unable to find an answer to, is this: Has anyone ever heard of a four year school hiring a CFI from a Community College? I think the school near me, Liberty University, allows staff to take classes for free. I thought that may be a good way to finish my degree, get paid a little, and build hours. However, I am not sure this is even a possibility. I do think a degree would help differentiate, especially at my age.