Trenton vs Salt Lake

Hello!

I am scheduled to start the Airline Career Pilot Program (from zero time) at Trenton in August. I have the opportunity to move to Salt Lake City and do the training there. This is definitely what I would prefer. My father, who is a former commercial pilot, cautioned me against the move because he feels that the terrain and elevation are added factors that would make my training unnecessarily difficult. I’m grateful for any insight you folks can give me. I’m trying to figure out what percentage of his advice is fatherly concern and what percent is expert opinion.

Thanks!
Kristen

Kristen,

If terrain and elevation were an issue, ATP would not have a training center in Salt Lake. I vote with you, go to SLC.

Chris

Thank you Chris!

Kristen,

I’m going to give a vote for TTN. I was an instructor there. Great airport, LOTS of airspace (it’s right on the edge of both EWR’s and PHL’s Class Bs), lot’s of little airports every few miles to practice every conceivable approach, howling crosswinds for honing your skills and REALLY good pizza right around the corner!

Seriously as Chris said SLC is fine and every airport has it’s challenges, pros and cons. Go wherever you think you’d enjoy more. But the pizza really is better in Jersey :slight_smile:

Adam

1 Like

Well, SLC will have more of a Chicago influence than TTN will, so the pizza will clearly be better in SLC.

Did they stop drug testing at United?

5 Likes

Kristen,

Whichever location is more convenient is the one I would choose.

Tory

Thanks, all! I hadn’t even thought to put PIZZA on my list of considerations! :slight_smile:

Oh god Adam. You crack me up