Tory - Biography

Hello everyone!

My aviation career began in 2013 in Sacramento, CA, shortly after graduating college. Let me start off by saying that flying was not something that I had always dreamt about. Before I talk about my path to the airlines here is a little background about where I started.

My entire young adult life revolved around soccer until a blood clot in my shoulder removed me from my starting position during my freshman year of college. I was in the ER when I decided that maybe this was a sign that it was time to shift my focus on academics. As much as I loved soccer and as much as I would have loved to have seen how much further it would have taken me, another side of me was telling me that it was time to set it aside.

Long story short, I completed Aerospace Engineering undergrad, but ultimately changed my major from AE to Communication Studies. I graduated in 2012 from Cal State Long Beach.

While earning my degree, I also joined the American Marketing Association because I felt that I could use the professional development to help me in my search for my future career, whatever that was going to be. As you can tell, I struggled to find something that I was passionate about for a long time. That said, I was at least willing to try different things and I was also enjoying the experience.

After college, I still wasn’t sure what my passion was, but I found a job working for a transportation logistics company. I lasted 10 months! I was back to the drawing board!

During college I had fantasized about becoming a pilot, but I didn’t like my options. There was really only one option really and that was to take out a loan with no guarantee that I would be able to get a flying job afterwards. The process seemed too risky at the time, but here I was, 3 years later, contemplating the possibility yet again.