Too late?

Hello All, I am new to this board and from what I’ve seen there seems to be good honest opinions here so I am going to ask my question. I am currently a Law Enforcement Officer with a State. I have been flying recreationally for about 20 years. Recently I got the notion to go for it in the aviation industry. I just received my Instrument Ticket and will be done with Commercial in the next couple of weeks. I am 44. I have sent ATP and another Flight School a request for information on becoming a CFI and staying with the school for time building. My question is this… Is it too late for me to make the career change? Flying has always been my passion but I never had the opportunity because of finances to finish my training. So lay it on me. Thanks in advance.

Daniel,

First offer ATP no longer offers their CFI program as a stand alone. It’s only available as part of the career pilot program. My next question is how many hours do you currently have after flying 20yrs? The min requirement (as you probably know) is 1500hrs so if you’re close you might not even need the CFIs? Anyway to your question. The short answer is definitely not.