The best way to finish flight training?

I’m at a crossroad and need guidance from someone who has been through a similar situation.

Background: I’m 23 years old and will graduate college with a bachelor’s degree in business marketing in August 2017. I have been working on my private license for about 7 months. I currently have around 70 hours of flight training through a local club and private flight instructor. My instructor is top notch as far as private instructors go.

He has over 10,000+ hours in a Cessna, was a previous military pilot and safety is top priority. I’m a few weeks out from taking my tests and I’m sure they will go smoothly. After I have my private, I am seriously considering moving to a more fast paced school that will advance my career more efficiently.

However, I can’t go to college and go to a flight school like ATP at the same time because classes conflict. I’m thinking if I take an entire year off from flight school to finish my college then I will loose a lot of my flight skills I posses at the moment.

I see that ATP’s program is only about 3 months to get all the ratings for a CFI, if starting from private. Once a flight instructor, do you have to work full time or can you work as a CFI and finish college? This is a difficult decision and I want some insight. What recommendations do you professionals have?

Thank you for your time,

-Luke

Hi Luke and Welcome!