Step 1

Hey there my name is Daniel and I’m 24 years old with no education beyond my high school diploma and all my work experience being in the restaurant industry. I have always had a love for the skies and a dream of being a future aviator. I am very much interested in starting courses with ATP flight school. I have no experience in the aeronautical field but at ready to get started! Am I correct when I say I’ll need to obtain a private pilot license on my own before starting with ATP? I will need to take out a school loan before starting the program would you suggest doing that to include the private pilot program as well? Am I going to be able to work part time at all outside of the program or will it be a full-time situation? Just trying to plan how much I will be borrowing.

Daniel,

No, you do not need a Private License before coming to ATP. In fact, I would recommend that you not get one somewhere else as you will have to learn a different school’s way of doing things and it will take longer. The majority of ATP’s students start from scratch, just like you are doing. When on the website, look at the “Start from zero time” column, that is what applies to you.

You will not be able to work at all while in ATP’s program. The schedule is just too demanding and variable.

Also, have you taken an introductory flight yet? This really is the only way to see if you actually want to fly airplanes for a living.

Chris

Chris,