Something new

Hello,

My name is Johannes. I’ve been a paramedic for the past 2 years and have been working in the EMS fields since 2009. I have an associates degree as well as other courses that I’ve taken for firefighting and paramedic. I’ve been trying to get a firefighter job for the past 5 years however I haven’t been able to find employment. As a paramedic I was not making enough money to take care of my needs and the schedule and expectations for that salary were unreasonable. Thus despite enjoying what I do I’m looking to make a career change.

I’ve always loved flying and traveling is a huge part of my life. So to be able to be paid to travel would be amazing. My current plan is to study for the FAA written exams and take those exams before starting at ATP. Also I’d like to take a discovery flight in Sacramento with ATP. My goal would be to become a commercial airline pilot and go to ATP starting with zero hours experience.

While it would be amazing to make the cockpit my office I have some concerns. The initial investment of 80,000 dollars is incredibly steep. How long does it take to pay of such a huge loan? What is the hiring process like for an airline job? Is there still a shortage in and airline industry? One of the huge reasons I’m wanting to make this change is because it seems like there is such a need in this field.

More questions to come I’m sure. Thank you very much for your time and consideration!

Thank you!

Johannes,

1. It’s impossible to say how long it will take you to pay off the loan as we have no idea of your personal expenses, finances, how frugal you are etc. The available Tuition Reimbursement will help. I believe Tory recently said he’s looking at having his paid off in 5 years which is pretty good.