Sense of accomplishment

I am currently an engineer working in the industry. I enrolled for ATP flight school last August but had to drop out before my start date due to an issue with my current job. I have contemplated being an airline pilot sense before I started college 5 years ago, but am now really tired off all the engineering jobs I’ve had and want to get out from behind the cubical. My biggest concern with changing careers like this (besides the money) is the repetition of the work. I’ve flown before, and fly in a passenger seat regularly. It has the been the highlight of my life getting to be around planes as much as I have and enjoy every second of it. But as with any passion, doing it over and over again, it eventually becomes work, just a job. How to you keep the passion alive? In engineering I get to create things and develop robots and see a result from my work. This gives me a sense of accomplishment, but it is draining me and I find myself always looking back asking my self what it could’ve been like if I could’ve followed through with ATP. But flying is in essence just a taxi service. Where to you find a sense of accomplishment in your career. What does it mean to be successful in a career where you can only advance so far?

Anthony,