Same location as a CFI

For anyone who recently graduated or have insight, if offered a CFI job, is it practically guaranteed that one of the offered CFI job locations will be at the same location in which you were a student? Looking to make a move to and buy a house in Peachtree City, GA when I start as a student at that location…not just for my time at ATP, but also due to its extremely convenient location near Atlanta Airport. In other words, this move would be a long term move and I would hate it if ATP offers me a handful of locations but none are at the same site in which I was a student, forcing me to move after I buy a home.

You are guaranteed a job (if you don’t have too many checkride busts and are generally pleasant to work with), but not location. Their obligation is only insofar as they offer you a position at ATP, which covers all the locations. You can pick another location and continuously monitor your desired location for an opening and then switch when/if that becomes available.

You are guaranteed a job but it may not be your first choice since it’s dependent on if they need another instructor at that location

Thanks Caleb and Joshua. Have either of you already been offered a job? If so, was it for only one location or did you have several in which to choose?

Im currently working on my instrument rating so no, I have just asked the instructors at my location a similar question.

Also in my instrument phase so it’s mainly what I’ve heard from instructors on how the process works in transition (my current instructor is brand new and just finished the program a month ago or so) and also reading what ATP puts out about this.

Did you just start instrument caleb? or you coming up on your checkride?

That’s awesome, good luck with your instrument ratings to both of you! I plan to start SEP 2020, so you’ll both well be into being a CFI by the time I start training.

I’m 9 days out from my checkride, just completed my mock at the end of last week.