Researching my choices

Hi, my names Matthew and I’m new to Airline Pilot life, I’m 15 years old and in 10th grade, trying to weight out my options. At the moment I plan to attend Arizona State University majoring in Aeronautical Management Technology. I plan to do this via the Air Force’s ROTC program, that way once I receive my pilots license and degree I’ll be able to earn my hours and have a steady job. Overall my goal is to be a commercial pilot for a major airline like Southwest. I’m just trying to figure out of my plan is theisable or if I should refine it or go about it another way. Any help would be appreciated :smile:

Hello Matthew and Welcome,

Your plan sounds FEASABLE I’m just curious about the ROTC aspect? Are you planning on joining the Air Force after high school? Otherwise I’m not sure where that fits in (unless it’s just something you enjoy and will look good on your college application which is fine)? Other than that I think your head is in the right place and headed in the right direction. Btw have you ever looked into the Civil Air Patrol, good entry to ROTC programs AND you do actually get to fly. Check it out!

Adam

The program I was looking at would have me serve 4-8 years in the Air Force after college, so I would enter as an officer with a degree. I haven’t looked into Civil Air Patrol until now, thanks for pointing it out, just from reading it briefly it seems like a good program I’ll look into more. I’ve always been interested in heavies and supers, not so much fighters like Ace pilots fly. So besides Civil Air Patrol, if there is anything else out there that might work better than ROTC let me know, I’m all ears. Once again thanks for the suggestion Adam, I’ll be sure to look into it :smiley:

Matthew,