Research Stage - Beginner's Questions

Hello,
First off, I would just like to thank Christopher, Yarden, Adam, Chris and everyone else who is involved in this forum. The information and input from you all is incredibly beneficial. Greatly appreciated!

Now to my questions. So I am currently a college student and have recently been researching a career in aviation. I have flown before (in high school) and loved it. But I have a few questions regarding a career in aviation, ATP, and some general things.

• Would you recommend a career as an airline pilot to people (or if it’s any easier, to your own children)? Why or why not?
  • What are the major drawbacks and benefits to such a career?
  • What is the most rewarding part about your job? Why?
  • How frequent do the classes run at ATP? I know there are 40 locations across the U.S. but when you decide you want to attend, what is that process typically like?
  • How much prior knowledge should someone have before attending the school?

Thank you all very much,
-Austin B.

1 Like

Austin,

Some good questions so let’s dive in:

1. Yes I definitely would (and I do). I love my job and nothing beats loving what you do for a living. That said it’s not for everyone. It does require a lot of hard work and discipline as well as a certain level of skill and intelligence. But if someone has the desire I would absolutely recommend it as a career. On a personal note my youngest son has expressed interest. I’ve had him up a few times but he lacks the discipline at this point in his life. Maybe when he “grows up” some?

2. Biggest drawbacks in my opinion is the initial expense (while definitely worth it) can be scary or even unobtainable to some. Also the time away from home and family can be difficult but that’s about all I can think of?