Relatively Late Career Change Question

Great forum - I’ve looked and haven’t found a discussion that quite addresses my situation. Thanks in advance to anyone who takes the time to read and provide some candid feedback.

Growing up, I was very interested in aviation and took a basic ground school class at a community college while in high school. That was the beginning and end of it, as I didn’t have the money to continue even to a PPL. Fast forward 35 years, I’m a CPA and an executive at a large company. I’ve been very fortunate to have had a successful career in business and to be financially secure. Two years ago, I joined a local flying club and logged about 25 hours towards my PPL (didn’t solo), and my work schedule got in the way; flying once a month just didn’t cut it - the flying club was a really great bunch of old guys, but incredibly slow pace of progress due to availability of aircraft, instructors, etc., combined with my work schedule conflicts.

I’m going to turn 50 in February 2019 and plan to retire from corporate life to pursue something different while I still have time to build a real second career out of it. Kids are away at college and I’m prepared to do something completely different. I’m very intrigued by the prospect of taking the ATP fast track through training and experience-building. I would devote myself to it full time and am accustomed to being very busy. If I were successful at ATP (which I realize is not a foregone conclusion), seems like I’d have a decent shot to get on at a Regional, without a burning ambition (financial or otherwise) to move up further.