Regional airline, schedule

I did not know where to put this so I’ll just put it here I am 32, I am a career firefighter paramedic and own a demolition business. I’m pretty tired of them both and have flown back when I was 20 and have always loved flying. Sporty’s Academy is here in Cincinnati and I have looked into their commercial pilot program which gets you up to the 250 hours and Commercial rating. While I have a lot of soul-searching to do I have a few more questions and am hoping you all can give me some guidance. PSA Airlines is based out of Dayton and also has operations in Cincinnati. I have been told by those in the industry that currently and probably 2 to 3 years down the road it would be no problem for me to be based out of Cincinnati or Dayton if I was hired with PSA Airlines. Do you agree or am I being too Wishful on thinking that I could get my pilot training then1500 hours as a CFI and get hired with PSA and get based in an area where I wouldn’t have to move or commute prior to my flights? Also reading throughout the internet I see a lot of comments about PSA several of which are negative. Any thoughts on PSA Airlines as an employer and what are your thoughts on a person who doesn’t have a college degree working at a regional carrier as a career choice? Do many people just stay at a regional as a captain? What is the pay at this level? And what kind of schedule can I expect at a regional carrier such as PSA, Envoy or Endeavor? More specifically my girlfriend slash fiance or soon-to-be fiance is concerned about the amount of time that I may be away from home. There seems to be a lot of variations and pilot scheduling and I’m just trying to get a better grasp of if I would be gone for a day and then fly again the next day and again the next day all out of my base or will I leave my base on a Monday and not return until Thursday then have 7 days off or 4 days off and then leave for another 3 days… 4 days?

1 Like

Hello Brett and Welcome,