PPL vs No expierence

Hi,

I am currently a Sophomore in engineering, and plan to get my bachelors degree before pursuing flight school. However, I am debating on pursuing my private pilots license before I graduate with my bachelors. I have already flown a bit, but have less than 10 hours logged. Would you recommend getting my PPL with my local flight school (I’m from Iowa) or waiting to get my PPL until pursuing my commercial license and do it all through one school?

Thanks,
Gavin

Hello Gavin,

Totally your call but since you asked I’d wait. There’s really no advantage to getting your PPL early unless you just want to go flying a bit and build a few hours until you graduate? If you plan on training at ATP I believe you’ll find the process more enjoyable, economical and “seemless” if you do all your training within the program. There’s something called the law of primacy and basically it states that what you learn first will stay with you the longest AND will have the DEEPEST impact. ATP’s training is very procedurally oriented and will get you started with good habits that will carry you throughout your training. Working as a crew, flows and running checklists are done from the beginning and you’ll continue using these habits your entire career.

Adam

1 Like

@GScroggin I am currently in my final semester of aerospace engineering and I got my private finished up last April by going home to fly on weekends. It’s doable, but always keep engineering first, obviously you know how difficult it is and how much free time (haha. Free time) it takes up. I would make sure that if you decide to get your private while in school that you get yourself set into the engineering rut prior to starting flying or else your school work will suffer (aka my spring semester sophomore year).