Options to become a pilot

Hi All,

My name is Logan Baughman, I’m 26 years old and live in Kansas City. I am going to start pursuing my private license and am currently working full-time. I’d love to get some input from the mentors on what I should do going forward.

I work full-time as a draftsman but do not enjoy any part of my job. I got my masters degree in a completely unrelated field (sport psychology) and worked for the military for a year, but aviation is what I’ve always wanted to do. I guess I always thought it was too good to be true as a possible career. However, I’m going for it now.

I really want go to Wells Fargo, Sallie Mae, or some other lender and look at financing, quit my job and jump in to training. Many people have suggested I stay with my current job and work while pursuing my private. The timeline for that is longer and I won’t last in my current job for another year. The program here (ATD Systems) seems great and I don’t have a problem going into debt for something I know I’ll love. I do have a wife and she works full-time, so we would still have money coming in. I want to know if I should drag out the training and pay out of pocket or go ahead and go for it full-time with financing. Thank you in advance!

Logan,