Opting out of ATP instructor program?!

Hello everyone. I’m starting with a ATP on July 10. I have been a private pilot for about 15 years and have decided on a career change. I currently have about 560 hours and I’m taking the 100 hour program. Once I’m done I will have somewhere over 700 hours total time. I already have a few really good leads at 135 operators. My question is this… what would be the advantage of going through all the instructor program, if I’m never going to instruct and have no desire to?
Thanks in advance!

Hi Daniel,

You’re fortunate to have some ins with some 135 ops. Depending on your location those can sometimes be hard to come by. Additional training is always beneficial and considering the initial CFI checkride is considered the hardest checkride (it has the highest failure rate of any by a considerable %) it obviously looks good on your resume to have passed it. The other thing to consider is what are your aspirations down the line? Once you make it to a Major would you ever want to be a check pilot? Many people do but they want to see those ratings. Finally as you’re probably aware this industry can be somewhat volatile. If those 135 gigs don’t pan out then what? What if the industry itself takes a turn? I have a few friends who when things got tight went to work for Flight Safety and CAE. They’ve done very well for themselves and now all have VERY high paying corporate gigs. The bottmline is it’s ALWAYS good to have options and have those ratings gives you more.

Adam