New beginnings

Hello everyone. First, I want to say that, I have been reading these q&a’s on here for over a year and I have been able to get so many questions of my own answered because of them. I am very appreciative for the time given by the mentors on here to help us all find our way through some of this process.

I am 32 years old. I’ve been a journeyman electrician for 10 years here in Alaska. I worked hard to get my career to a point of being in a position to run multi million dollar jobs and hold foreman positions normally. That all changed a year ago after an injury at work while pulling on several hundred pounds of wire. I ended up with some bulging discs in my thoracic spine and concluded that even after recovering, my days of carrying bundles of rigid conduit over my shoulder needed to end. My back issue is only provoked during extreme lifting/pulling/twisting.

I’m now at what feels like, the biggest crossroads of my life. My wife and I have a couple hundred thousand dollars saved (sounds like a lot but in reality is not that much) and I am starting over.
My dream is to be an airline pilot. There is not another career I’d love to pursue more.
That being said, I want to be very rational and do my best to minimize any regrets as I move forward.

I do not have a bachelors degree. I have been weighing out trying to get one first vs getting one online with ER while working at a regional later.
My fear is that I will use my resources up if I get my degree first. I also fear that I could miss the opportunity to get on at a regional and establish some seniority before this current “pilot shortage” changes or evolves.
Any input?