Need some reassurance

Hi everyone,
I just got my start day for October at the Camarillo location. I started studying through kings school for the private written. To be completely honest I am feeling a bit overwhelmed because I simply do not understand the material and feel like I’m listening to a foreign language. I have zero experience besides a few intro flights at atp and other local schools…I know I have read about other people that had the same experience but some reassurance would be nice.
Thanks so much
Taryn

Taryn,

I suspect you’re putting a lot of pressure on yourself to understand the material. This can be very challenging out of context and since you haven’t started flying it is. I suggest you try and relax and repeat the modules to they make sense. It should start to come together.

Adam

If you’re having a hard time with a particular concept, look for a YouTube video or two on the matter. I am having to do that for certain subjects on the current written that I’m studying for. King’s videos do a good job with concepts but keep in mind that they are teaching you towards passing your PAR written—they are not the only thing you should learn early on, just one of the things. Also, since you have until October, you have ample time to review the pre-course assignments. While it is recommended to take the written exams prior to your start date, it is not required.

As Adam said, don’t put so much pressure on yourself, be committed, determined, and steadfast, and the rest will come.

1 Like

Thank you Adam. That is nice to hear coming for you. I definitely am putting pressure on myself…I think it’s just scary…this is such a big amount of money and I’m already feeling defeated in the first week. I know I’ve read for the written it’s more of a memoriziation of material but it’s frustrating because I want to understand it all but I just don’t.
I will keep plugging along and am sure it will work out.
Thanks for the reply I appreciate it
Taryn

Hi Taryn,