Real Answers from Real Pilots

Monocular vision medical question?

(Dallon Hill) #1

I am new to flying, my friend took me on a ride while hes working on his cfi and I loved it. I’ve always wanted to be a pilot but never thought it would be possible with my vision, but have since learned it is possible. I have amblyopia and 20/200 vision in my left eye my right eye however is perfect it’s 20/15 anyways, I am wanting to go to flight school to get my commercial license and hopefully fly for the majors one day. Anyways, I need to get a medical and I know it will get denied and I will need a soda I’m just curious if anyone knows any good Ames to go to somewhere in between Dallas San Antonio and Lubbock Texas, I live in Abilene but we have only one here and they don’t know how to handle the paperwork for that. So I’m looking for someone that knows how to submit all the nessecary paperwork and that can walk me through the process. I was hoping to start flying to get my ppl in the next couple months. Also if anyone has any tips for me as I am scared I will be wasting my money by getting some flight hours in and then not being able to pass the soda. Also confused at what point in training I would attempt to get the soda as well. Thank you!

Dallon,

I can’t help with the AME but a Google search or this site: https://www.faa.gov/pilots/amelocator/ should. I think however you answered your own question. You don’t want to waste time and money only to discover you have a problem and you need at least a Third Class to start taking instruction so I’d get working on that ASAP.

Adam

Dallon,

I would not do any flight training at all until you have a First Class Medical.

Chris

(Dallon Hill) #4