Mechanic ready for a change

I’m 27 years old, I did 6 years army national guard, with 1 deployment as a Blackhawk mechanic 15T. I have a year of college, and I have worked as a mechanic for a Forklift company for years now. I’m tired of it, I risk losing limbs and possibly my life for just dimes on the dollar. I wanted to be a helicopter pilot in the army, and a jet pilot many years before that.
Now I am ready, I plan on selling my home, my belongings, my life. And learning to fly. My goal is to go to atp, complete the 40 hour course and start for a regional such as envoy, or Mesa. And work my way up to a major airline. I plan on attending in the fall of 2018, and instructing until I reach hours.

I have zero flight experience besides riding in the blackhawk UH60s I was repairing. I was injured in 2010 when I was hit by a car on my motorcycle, my leg had multiple surgeries but I have no restrictions and have had no issues with it since my last surgery in 2011. I work on heavy machinery and it’s never been an issue. I really want to know what I need to do, how to prepare, what to expect, and the best route to go. I understand this will take dedication, and studying. I also understand that I should be looking to start online college courses when I become a regional pilot.

The other question I have is about lines like envoy, are there any hidden prerequisites they don’t mention that allow you to advance to American. Can I join envoy, and complete years of flying and advance to American without a degree, I plan on getting one, I just want to pay off any debts before i start one. I am going to work for this, I work my ass off now fixing cars on the side Putting in 70hour weeks. I am doing this no matter what I have to do to get it done.