Majors Vs. Regionals current hiring practices

Hello all.

Thanks for the time. I am an F-18 USMC pilot type with 800hrs total time. I have not flown in 2 years simply because of military ground job requirements I.e. I’m not current. I complete my active service later this summer. I am currently planning on using my GI Bill to remove my centerline thrust restriction and pick up my restricted ATP. I have talked with a regional airline recruiter and they would put me through their training pipeline, but I am hoping that by getting my ATP on my own ahaed of time I might be able to skip straight to the majors. What do you think my chances of getting straight to the majors are right now with my limited total time and limited currency. Thanks again for your time.

Anthony “Gobbles” Peters

Anthony,

I don’t mean to sound pessimistic here, but I don’t think that you have any chance at all of getting to the majors with 800 hours, even if you were current. You should plan in spending a few years at the regionals. With that in mind, I would save your GI benefits and let the regionals remove your centerline thrust restriction.

Chris

Anthony,

While flying F18s is of course a tremendous accomplishment, the fact that you can only get an R-ATP alone would preclude you from going straight to a Major. You’re going to need to build some time just to meet most of the Major’s minimums.

Adam

Thanks for the feedback, I really appreciate it. Even with those expectations, I believe using about 1/3rd of my GI bill would be beneficial in even the attempt of accelerating my progress through the regional airline training pipeline. From my perspective the sooner I can get in and get my number the better. Thanks again.

Gobbles

Sooner is always better. Just FYI the regionals will be happy to get you your R-ATP as part of your newhire training once you meet the mins. Save the money and the time.

Adam