Loan Question / Written Exams

Hello all,

My name is Alex and I am in the process of planning my start in the Airline Career Pilot Program. I have a few questions. To give some background, I am in my early 20’s and I am a recent college graduate. I started my first full-time job a few months ago and I am just not happy. I am looking to start the program in the next 6 months or so. I have known that I have wanted to be a pilot my whole life, and even with the odd timing I am finally ready to go for it. I would be a third generation pilot, as my dad and grandfather are both corporate pilots. I bounce most of my questions off of my dad, but I believe it is always a good idea to get opinions and advice from multiple people.

1. Can anyone give a rough estimate on the interest rate they incurred for their Sallie Mae/Wells Fargo loan for tuition? I understand every case is different, but I am just trying to figure out a few things about my own financial situation and this would be of great help.

2. What exactly is the point of taking the 4 written exams (PPL, Instrument, multi, commercial) before starting the program? I understand that ATP will reimburse you for finishing these early which is a nice monetary incentive, but there is a time gap between taking these exams and applying the knowledge from them. I could understand taking the PPL beforehand because that is the first step in the program. When it comes to the latter three, there would be a 3+ month gap after completing these exams before beginning the training that correlates with them.

I am up for all advice/different points y’all may have! I am eager to learn as much as I can about the program, and I thought why not come straight to the individuals that have been through the program themselves.

Thank you.

Alex

Alex,

1. For your first question I’ll let some others chime in since I financed with neither of the 2 and when I did it was a long time ago.