Is it worth it?

Hey all,

My name is Mike and I’m very new to the subject of aviation. Haha!
So recently I am was sitting behind my desk at work and realized that there is no possible way I can do that for the rest of my life. I’ve always had a passion for flying but never took the leap into that direction. Well I’m 26 years old, about 38k in student loans, and I cannot get the thought of becoming an airline pilot out of my head. The way I see the loan thing is that life is all about having a good credit score, so building it through loan payments seems pretty sufficient. That being said, I think ATP would be worth it because being a pilot seems like a better quality of life than the normal desk job. I like ATP’s layout because they include the multi-engine certification into the program. I visited a local flight school in Orlando, and I’m pretty sure the multi-engine wasn’t included in their pro pilot program only single-engine. Any tips or opinions would help so much!

Here are a few questions I thought of while doing this…

• Has anyone juggled a part-time job when training at ATP?
  • I know multi-engine training is available through the program but, do pilots need additional training for jet engines versus prop engines that students are trained on?
  • What differentiates ATP from other accelerated programs?

I hope to hear from you guys soon. I really enjoy reading through these threads!

1 Like

Mike,

Many people are new to the subject of aviation I’m just not sure why that’s funny? Anyway let’s try and answer your questions.