Is it worth it for me?

So long story short, I made a mess of my life and would like to become a pilot because I have heard of the shortage and it looks like a good job for me and one that would not only pay the bills but potentially make enough money to actually retire.

The bad: I am 35, and might be 37 before I get started. I am broke, I don’t owe anything, but I would likely have to take a loan for the program and enough to live on. Possibly worse though, I have a two year degree, I really wasn’t interested, and when you are not interested you get a passing grade in differential equations, but very poor grades.

The good: I have a clean background, am fluent English and Spanish, am willing to move and would be comfortable living overseas again.

Is it worth the money to become a pilot? How likely is someone to get a job? How long did it take for you and your co workers to pay off the loan?

As I see it I need new glasses, and to pass a first class medical. Would you recommend taking an intro flight before even getting the medical pass? What should I look for in an intro flight? Would you wait until closer to the class date to take your medicals or get them ASAP?

Is there a way to use being bilingual and comfortable overseas to make training cheaper?

Sorry for all the questions, and thank you for your time.

That is a loaded question. Only you can decide if it’s worth it for you. If you’re going to incur $100k in debt ($170-185k with interest) because that’s all you’ve ever wanted to do for a living it’s one thing. If you’re concerned with the size of the paycheck, you can purchase a small business with that sum and with some elbow grease make a good living without having to go through training. I wouldn’t be concerned about college right now. If you decide to fly for the airlines, you can work on getting a Bachelors while you’re at a regional airline. There are no right or wrong answers: each one will have consequences that are specific to you.

1 Like

V,