Is 46 too old to go for a flying career?

Hello,
I am 46 years old and I have been working towards my private pilots license for several years now. I have had to stop and start so many times due to finances. I know that that is not the way to do it. I should have saved up and done it all at once. Anyway, I have over 200 hours and I have taken the written exam and passed it twice. I have to take it again since another two years has passed. Also, I soloed four years ago. I don’t know if I should head for the fast track program? First I do not know if I would qualify for a loan that big and also, I do not know if I would be starting from “zero time” or not since I have a lot of training experience and time. Thank you for any advice! I’m feeling very discouraged but flying for a career is my dream! Is it too late?

Susan,

I think your post speaks for itself. Is 46 too old? Not really BUT is 46 and spending years and years not progressing obviously will not work. Clearly training on your own locally is not getting you anywhere and at this rate you’ll hit mandatory retirement before you have your 1500hrs and your Commercial. Not sure what you’ve been paying an hour but even if it was cheap you had to have dropped $20k+ on those 200hrs and still don’t have your Private (if it wasn’t the number is double). With that amount of flight time you should be close to your Commercial and after “several” yrs you should be a Capt at a Regional or even an FO at a Major. The question is how long do you want to keep throwing money at this?

You’ve already spent wayyyy too much time and money but it’s your time and money so only you can decide if it’s wasted? If not and you just want to go buzz around every now and then like you have been that’s fine. This is your life and you can do as you like but at 46 IF you truly want to do this as a career you need to get serious NOW. You’ve already limited how far you can get in the airlines.