Instrument and FII Written Exams

So I’m scheduled to start at ATP in about a month and I’m currently studying to knock out some of these written exams before I go there with the help of Sheppard Air’s software.

My understanding of taking the Instrument and FII tests according to ATP’s website and prior posts on this forum is that those tests use the same question bank and therefore can and should be completed simultaneously. However, there’s a disclaimer on my Sheppard Air iPad app notifying that studying for the Instrument test will NOT adequately prepare me for the FII test.

I was wondering if someone could clarify if these tests use the same question bank entirely or if there’s additional questions to be studied for the FII test. If there are additional questions, I’m guessing I need to call Sheppard Air to receive access to those study questions?

1 Like

Kyle,

To be completely honest I’m not that familiar with the Sheppard software for Instrument BUT what I can tell you is when I took the exams the 2 were identical except the FII had 2 helicopter questions. I’m thinking someone took the exam and freaked because they got 2 extra wrong, maybe flunked because they were poorly prepared overall, blamed Sheppard Air so they put in the disclaimer. Personally I’d use it and Google Instrument rotor wing questions but totally your call?

Anyone else have a thought?

Adam

1 Like

I don’t know why that disclaimer is there, but you can ignore it. Sheppard
Air is just protecting itself from people demanding a refund. Like Adam
said, there are probably only a handful of new questions on the FII. 99% of
the questions are identical to the IRA.

Tory

Kyle,

I remember there being just a few extra questions, but certainly not enough to worry about. I would just go for it.

Chris

Awesome, thanks guys!