Instructing away from atp

As an ATP student i have about 6 months of training left. I have an instructing job back home not associated with ATP. Will i loose any benefits not instructing for ATP? Am i still allowing to sign with an airline not instructing for ATP? Thanks.

Drake,

You will lose the benefit of Tuition Reimbursement by not instructing for ATP. You will of course be able to apply to any airline that you wish regardless of where you flight instruct. Your licenses are issued by the FAA and are yours to do with as you see fit.

Chris

Drake,

This is America and you can do as you like. The airlines will hire you regardless and while you may lose the Tuition Reimbursement you can probably just take it as a signing bonus. Shouldn’t be an issue unless the school is quiet and it takes you 12 yrs to build your time :wink:

Adam

Ok thank you. The tuition reimbursement makes sense, i just didnt know if i would still have the ability to sign on with an airline once i start instructing.

You will miss out on ATPs tuition reimbursement deals with their regional partners…which are very good deals. There are, however, other flight schools that have negotiated tuition reimbursement contracts for CFIs with some of the prominent regional airlines. These are typically larger schools…not your mom and pop shops found at your local airport FBO.