I wan to be a commercial pilot, now what?

Hello, I am 15 years old and I want to fly commercially when I’m older. I have done a lot of research but have no clue where to start. I asked my parents about taking lessons to get started but they are not willing to pay for all of it. This is the only thing that has stood out to me to pursue as a career and i do not know a thing about flying. Also, my parents don’t want to spend a lot of money on this and have me lose interest in flying. Any suggestions?

Sydney,

Welcome to the forums and thanks for the question!

To begin with I have to ask you, what about flying interests you? Why are you desiring to be a pilot? People pick their careers for a lot of different reasons, some are good, some not. I initially did not want to be a pilot, I was half way through a business degree in college before I decided that I wanted to fly for a living.

Right now you are too young to really pursue flying. The minimum age to solo an airplane is 16 and the minimum age to get a Private Pilot license is 17. For most people I recommend that they go to college and get a four year degree first, then attend a flight school. In fact, one of ATP’s requirements is that you have two years of higher education before signing up for their program.

It seems like you might be a little on the fence about this as a career, but don’t worry, I had no idea what I wanted to do for a living when I was 15, I don’t think most people do. There are two things that you can do to help familiarize yourself with the aviation industry. The first and easiest is to spend time on this forum. Read the various mentor biographies and our “Flying the Line” stories. Make sure to ask as many questions as you can, that is what we are here for.