How To Become A Commercial Pilot After High School

I am 14 years old and very interested in commercial piloting. I have loved flying in general since I was 8 and have been wanting a piloting career since then. I want to know what is the best route to go to succeed this after high school because I am a freshman. I don’t want to go the military route. I want to see my options after high school as I prepare for the aviation career I want. Thank You!

1 Like

Matthew,

Welcome to the forums. The best thing that you can do right now is to get good grades in high school and get yourself into a position to go to a good college. After graduating high school I recommend that you attain a four year degree, then go to a flight school that offers accelerated training.

Your other option is to go to a community college for two years, then attend flight school and start working on building your flight time. After you get hired on at an airline you could finish up a degree online. Keep in mind that you will need a four year degree to get hired on at the major airlines.

In the meantime check out various aviation publications, keep up on the industry and feel free to cruise this website and ask your questions here. At some point in the future you should take an introductory flight to see if flying is something that you really want to do.

Chris

4 Likes

Chris,

What are some of the great aviation publications available out there? Can you suggest a few?

Charles

Charles,

I’ve always been a fan of the AOPA Pilot magazine and the AOPA as a whole. Great organization with many valuable resources. Everything from tech to legal to medical. Their magazine comes out monthly but they actually have different versions that they tailor to the flying you do.

Adam

Charles,

I am a fan of AOPA Pilot and Smithsonian’s Aviation magazine. A lot of people like Aviation Week and Space Technology, but I find it to be too technical for my tastes. Plane and pilot is another one that comes to mind.