Hours Per Week

I’m considering going to ATP. I’m wondering about the typical hours per week devoted to studying. Not to decide whether I can work on the side or anything. Just to get an idea.

I’ve gone through a bit of law school where I was either studying or in class 80-100 hours per week as well as a software engineering program where I was working another 12 hours per day, 6 days a week and even studying on Sundays as well. I don’t think I’d consider flying “work” as it’s so much fun. But how many hours are people committing towards studying ground school work? Having gone through those previous experiences, I’m just worried about entering another rigorous program where I take out a huge loan and then can’t make it through somehow. I will add, I really hated law school and found out software engineering wasn’t for me but LOVE flying and learning about it.

Justin,

Frankly it’s hard to say. Everyone learns differently and at different rates. When I was an instructor for ATP I had students who studied maybe an hour or 2 a night tops and others who were up till the wee hours trying to get a concept. Honestly I never found it that arduous. I think it’s more about focus and discipline. There were always guys in my apt who while studying would be playing X Box and watching TV then wondered why they were struggling. Put in a solid effort and I think you’ll find its not too bad.

Adam

1 Like

Justin,

ATP is a very accelerated program. While I did have some time off while in the program, the vast majority of my time was spent either training or studying. Getting the written exams out of the way with prior to starting training would really help you.

I will say that even though you may love flying, somewhere in the middle of doing timed turns for holding, flying can become un-fun, too. You just have to buckle down and make it happen. The payoff is worth it.

Chris