Hello fellow (future) pilots! ...and a few brief questions

Hi everyone! This is my first post on the forum. I am a 27yo currently in graduate school studying molecular biology. I have loved aircraft since I was little and I took my first flight with ATP just before my 27th birthday. For many different reasons, it took me until last year to realize that I could pursue a career as a professional pilot (duh… how dumb am I?). I understand that the sooner I am able to begin training, the better my career and earning prospects will be; however, I want to complete my degree since I’ve already sunk four years into my research. Because of this I will be approaching 29yrs of age before beginning flight training. There are different reasons for this post, but the main ones are these: I have basic questions I hope can easily be answered by this awesome community, I want to start connecting with other prospective pilots, and as a general catharsis as I am not able to tell anyone at my institution of my dream due to their expectations that I will become a research scientist.

Questions:

1. If I were to be qualified and skilled enough to make it through training and get offered a CFI position at ATP, would I have a say in the location where I would be based or would it be at the discretion of ATP?

2. Are there any check-ride/graduation/regional airline placement statistics for students from ATP?

3. Do you think having a PhD will help/hurt me in any way with airlines? (I am guessing that no one will care as everything seems to be based on seniority and mol bio has very little to do with flight).

4. Have you heard of or know anyone in the industry with a similar background? (It’s always nice to hear of or talk to people who have similar experiences and can speak to a particular situation)

5. Can you recommend any good pilot/aircraft/industry books or documentaries I can soak up as I dredge through my final bit of research?