Head-start & Study Tips

So I’m starting my training soon (around May) and just got my ATP package and signed up for the King Schools Private Pilot ground school. What are some study tips to be successful in the program? Should I be writing down a lot of notes when it comes to the online coursework? How far in it should I go/what exactly should I do?

Gabe,

Tory

2 Likes

https://atpflightschool.com/faqs/acpp-prep-written-knowledge-tests.html

Adam

1 Like

Gabe,

The best thing you can possibly do is complete as many written exams as possible. I know it sounds crazy, but just focus on memorizing the answers and don’t worry about understanding the material. That will come later. Any amount of writtens that you can complete before the program will be a huge benefit for you. I would shoot for scores of 90% or better.

Chris

1 Like

Gabe,

As a current student, I would suggest two things:

1. Get your written exams done. It’s one less thing you have to worry about when you’re flying up to 5x a week.

2. If you aren’t comfortable on the radios, start practicing. Get on LiveATC and practice responding to controllers. The faster you can pick up the radios, the easier flying will be.

What location will you be starting at?

1 Like

Im about half way through the King school private pilot right now so far it hasn’t been hard only thing I’ve found difficult is VORs. So you are saying I should just focus on trying to memorize the questions at the end?

When it comes to the written exams, just memorize the questions. I know it sounds counter-intuitive, but it really is the best way to get through the writtens. There will be time for actually learning the material later.

Hey Chris,