Getting my PPL

HEY GUYS!!!

Once again thanks for always being here to answer our questions quickly. It is greatly appreciated!

So I’m still a sophomore in school studying Finance, and I’m still planning on enrolling at ATP after I graduate. I can’t wait to start flying, and I think I’m going to get my private pilots license this coming May. How long do you think it would take? I know most people say around a month is a good timetable, but if i devote all of my time to getting the license, how fast do you think I could do it? I have also read that only 40 hours are required, but most people end up doing around 60. Why is this, and what would I need to do to get this license around the 40 hour range? I’m on a timetable, because I have a summer internship that starts at the beginning of June. I plan on getting my PPL in Houston, and the internship is in Omaha so I need to make sure I complete it before I leave. Any recommendations would be very beneficial!

Thanks to everyone!!!

Hello Cameron and Welcome!

A month is a fair timetable provided that’s pretty much all you’re doing for that month. As you pointed out the LEGAL minimum is 40 hrs. If you fly 2 hrs a day (which is a lot) that right there is 20 days and that’s not taking into account ground school, bad weather and life. Usually when I say 2hrs a day people will ask well what if I fly more? The answer is 2 hrs of training is really all the average human mean can do and effectively absorb and progress. After that we become saturated and will often regress. As for the why does it take the average person 60 hrs, well Cameron, flying is hard. It’s alot of knowledge and skills that must be learned and these are not innate skills that every person possesses. When the FAA says the legal minimum is 40 hrs they’re not saying you should be able to earn your PPL in 40 hrs, they’re saying that’s the absolute minimum they’ll even allow you to take your checkride because they don’t believe it’s possible to do it in less.