Future Pilot

Hello,

My name is Emmett and I am interested in starting a career in flying. I always been fascinating about flying, but never had the opportunity/money to actually do it. I graduated from college last year with a degree in Economics. Currently, I work as an accountant, and have been for almost a year now. Accounting is okay, but I don’t see myself doing this and feeling happy with it for the rest of my life.

Last month, I started taking private pilot lessons at a local airport by me just to see if this is something I really want to do. I am about 5 hours into flight time…getting closer to that 1,500 hour milestone haha. Turns out, I really like flying and I want to pursue it. I want to stick in accounting about a year longer to save up and to help me get to the 80 hour requirement before starting with ATP. I have a couple questions:

1. What is the difference between the 40 hour multi time and 100 hour multi time? Does this 60 hour difference help a lot in terms of landing a job as an airline pilot? What route did you guys take?

2. The ATP flight school website promotes around $51K for the fast track program. Is this a fixed price once you sign up or are there additional costs for tests and supplies?

3. How did you guys finance your flight school? $51K deep in loans is a scary thought. Was flight instructing enough the help you pay for your loans while you built time?

4. As far as flight instruction, what was the most challenging/enjoyable aspect of it? Also, realistically, how much per month could I expect to earn as a flight instructor say averaging 80 hours a month. (Sorry if this question is too vague, I am just trying to see how much I should be saving up).

5. After obtaining your CFI/CFII do you only instruct at ATP flight schools? Or does ATP have contracts with other smaller local airports, so that you can instruct in multiple locations? (I am currently looking at the Oakland, CA ATP flight school).